In Business Since 2001 We accept Paypal
Home Article Directory
More from Bill Platt
"Bill Platt for Book Authors" Youtube Channel
Training for Book Authors
Other Resources for Book Authors & Publishers
FictionPlots.com (350+ Plots & counting)
Please Support Our Advertisers

 
D9 Hosting


People Magazine: What is it all about?

Copyright (c) 2005-2021

"People" is my guilty pleasure, a rather gossipy magazine that chronicles celebrities and the various stuff that happens to them -- but it also does delightful pieces that are genuinely heart-
warming, and reviews for books, movies, CDs, etc by people who actually seem to like the material.

People usually starts with several pages of colour photos of celebrities, both in glitz and sweatpants (I'm thinking of one horrible Julia Robert picture). These are usually pretty entertaining, ranging from playful to "eww, look at that." Then we get reviews of books and movies and music, where the reviewers often seem to acknowledge that "different" does not mean "bad."

Then we get to the Big Stories. Usually there are more than one of these per magazine, stretching over three pages at minimum. These can either be celebrity stories (usually pretty gushing) or stories about... well, real people, ranging from heroic rescues to "where are the celebrities of the past?" to medical breakthroughs.

Then come smaller stories: A little boy who inexplicably sets off store alarms. A nun who used to be a Hollywood actress (and was once involved with Elvis). Someone who makes anti-man shirts. There is a crossword puzzle, the fashion gaffe of the week (and often two people who have eerily similar outfits) and a final page of excerpts from celebrity interviews.

It all sounds pretty bad, right? Wrong, though People sometimes delves a little too deep and tells us a little more than we want to know, they do so with the same sort of gleeful enjoyment that we all, deep down, have. We want to hear the juicy details of X and Y's divorce, and we want to dream about wearing Z's wedding dress (even though deep down we know the marriage will last as long as her LAST one).

Do they overstep the boundaries sometimes? Yes, but they make up for that with the real life stories of people who have succeeded. I find that far more engaging than X and Y's divorce, and that is why I buy the magazine.

So yes, I'd advise getting this magazine if you enjoy sneering at celebrities, reading about the "Goat that saved my life," and watching David Duchovny get carted around on the handlebars of a nun's bike.


About The Author: Shop Amazon - Top Gift Ideas
By Kostandinos Papahatzis, owner of http://www.people-magazine-reviews.com/article1.html For more help public relations and writing, email to: mailto:contact@people-magazine-reviews.com

VOTE ON THIS ARTICLE
Needs Work >> 0 - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 << Excellent Article

Tell our authors what you think about their article.



Top-Level Category: Articles

10 Most Recent Articles Written by Kostandinos Papahatzis

Dying Printed Media - Who Cares?
Written by: Kostandinos Papahatzis | Distributed: 2009-01-27 | Word Count: 397 | Page Views: 2245 | Votes: 9 | Rating: 1.78
Thanks to the advances in Technology, we see people using the Web for all kinds of reasons, primarily for getting entertained and informed. This obviously affects magazines and newspapers that depend on circulation numbers to survive. Recently it has been reported that many newspapers and magazines find it difficult to sustain their profits as the expenses to maintain their publication are relatively high. It is rather difficult to sustain existing personnel and continue paying bills when circulation numbers fall. So what are they doing about it?

Printed Versus Electronic Press: and the Winner Is?
Written by: Kostandinos Papahatzis | Distributed: 2009-01-22 | Word Count: 469 | Page Views: 2214 | Votes: 4 | Rating: 1.75
Undoubtedly, we are going through important changes in the area of printed media. We outline thoughts on how this will evolve and the impact on newspapers and magazines.

Making Your Summer Break In Crete Unforgettable
Written by: Kostandinos Papahatzis | Distributed: 2008-05-24 | Word Count: 741 | Page Views: 2751 | Votes: 9 | Rating: 1.22
I must have travelled to Crete a hundred times; I go more frequently nowadays. I still haven't managed to see even half of it - it is a remarkable and complex combination of places, landscapes, people, customs, smells - what can I say? Eventually I started to believe strongly that people like myself who love the place, deserve to look for a more permanent residence to stay for longer periods of time. At least getting a quality holiday house in Crete has become so inexpensive that can hardly be considered as financial risk.

Making The Most Out Of Your Summer Holidays In Crete
Written by: Kostandinos Papahatzis | Distributed: 2008-05-22 | Word Count: 733 | Page Views: 2597 | Votes: 9 | Rating: 1.33
I must have been to Crete a hundred times; I go more frequently nowadays but I still haven’t managed to see even half of it - it is a remarkable and complex combination of places, landscapes, people, customs, smells - what can I say? I have more than enough in me to share with others, and this is why I decided to write about it.

Making Your Summer Holidays In Crete Unforgettable
Written by: Kostandinos Papahatzis | Distributed: 2008-05-20 | Word Count: 740 | Page Views: 2728 | Votes: 9 | Rating: 2.33
I must have travelled to Crete a hundred times; I go more frequently nowadays. Eventually I started to believe strongly that people like myself who love the place, deserve to look for a more permanent residence to stay for longer periods of time. At least getting a quality holiday house in Crete has become so inexpensive that can hardly be considered as financial risk.

It's Time to read Time Magazine Reviews
Written by: Kostandinos Papahatzis | Distributed: 2005-03-11 | Word Count: 0 | Page Views: 1230 | Votes: 2 | Rating: 0.50
Each issue of Time includes regular featured articles and columns, along with a few surprises thrown in from time to time. Some of the regular features include the following:

All of Author's Articles on this site:

Most Recent "" Articles

Ann Arbor, MI Offers A Lot Of Year-Around Family Fun
Written by: Jeb Maxwell | Distributed: 2010-01-20 | Word Count: 595 | Page Views: 3792 | Votes: 8 | Rating: 1.25
Ann Arbor, Michigan is the home of the University of Michigan, a leading institution of higher education. Ann Arbor is a wonderful place to visit. The University is co-mingled with the city and greatly expands the cultural places and events available in the area.

Flowers Are The Perfect Gift For Father's Day
Written by: Wesley Berry, AAF | Distributed: 2008-02-20 | Word Count: 486 | Page Views: 5179 | Votes: 11 | Rating: 2.09
Dads everywhere have Sonora Smart Dodd to thank for getting Father's Day started. In 1909, Sonora sat in a church in Spokane, Washington listening to a sermon expounding on the virtues of motherhood. But, as she sat there, she thought about how special her own father was since it was he who raised her after the death of her mother.

Finding the Adventure in Travel Again
Written by: Helen Bergstein | Distributed: 2006-05-11 | Word Count: 718 | Page Views: 3844 | Votes: 14 | Rating: 2.64
If you want to experience adventure at every level of your next trip, you need to go beyond the usual resorts and places to stay. If you're like most travelers, personal safety remains a priority, especially in today's world. A growing number of savvy travelers have found the perfect balance between adventure and comfort.

7 Tips to Hiring a Good DJ for your Party
Written by: Kamau Austin | Distributed: 2006-05-11 | Word Count: 563 | Page Views: 4746 | Votes: 11 | Rating: 1.36
If you want to have a party that everyone will be talking about for days and years later, hire a good DJ to run your music and light show. Hiring a DJ can actually be fun. Just follow these simple tips, and you are sure to have a fabulous DJ for your party.

Building your Credit to get a Mortgage
Written by: Kamau Austin | Distributed: 2006-05-11 | Word Count: 840 | Page Views: 4800 | Votes: 11 | Rating: 2.09
You are thinking about purchasing real estate. However, you are not sure if your credit is good enough to get a mortgage. There are things that you can do to build your credit so that it is worthy of any mortgage that may interest you.

1569 Unique Ways To Get A Free Lunch
Written by: Steve Robichaud | Distributed: 2006-05-07 | Word Count: 0 | Page Views: 2985 | Votes: 3 | Rating: 0.33
Everywhere you turn - T.V., Radio, magazines, or the Internet, someone is talking about government grants. What's the real story? Does the government give away real money, to ordinary people, to use for whatever they want? Let's take a closer look:

Don't Wait to Start Your Marketing Strategy
Written by: Jo Fulkerson | Distributed: 2006-05-07 | Word Count: 0 | Page Views: 3310 | Votes: 3 | Rating: 0.33
Your novel is finished, you’ve had it edited by a professional Editor, and you’ve done the rewrites. What? You haven’t had an editor edit your work yet? This is a must. There are many editors advertising in Writer’s Digest.

NEVER Reply to an eGroup Post!
Written by: BIG Mike McDaniel | Distributed: 2006-05-07 | Word Count: 0 | Page Views: 4507 | Votes: 3 | Rating: 0.33
eGroups are collections of people subscribed to a common (discussion list) address. When one member sends an eMail message to the eGroup address, it is automatically sent to everyone else on the list. As subscribers open and read their eMail, discussion threads take shape with additional posts and replies. The attraction of eGroups is the ability to join in at your convenience as opposed to the confinement of live chat rooms.

Reasons behind Shoulder Pain
Written by: Jessica Horowitz | Distributed: 2006-05-07 | Word Count: 0 | Page Views: 4372 | Votes: 3 | Rating: 0.33
Pain between the shoulder blades, or any pain for that matter, is your body's way of notifying you that something is amiss. You should never ignore it and hope it will *go away by itself*. There are a multitude of possible causes of pain between the shoulder blades. We'll discuss common ones in this article and start with the most serious conditions first:

Effective Managers Need To Coach
Written by: Wendy Hearn | Distributed: 2006-05-07 | Word Count: 0 | Page Views: 3879 | Votes: 4 | Rating: 0.75
Bearing in mind the fast pace of business today and the need to stay competitive, it's essential that managers should be effective. They need to be especially effective with their people and this requires learning to coach. For most managers, coaching has been added to their role anyway, but the majority haven't received any training in coaching skills.

Most Viewed "" Articles

TAKING RESPONSIBILITY - LIFE'S BIGGEST QUESTION
Written by: Richard Sparky Bryan | Distributed: 2006-05-07 | Word Count: 0 | Page Views: 13250 | Votes: 3 | Rating: 0.33
When did Americans stop taking responsibility for their own actions? My friend agreed that the slide began in the late 1960's with the growth of the drug culture. But he was quick to emphasize that although the sixties began the slide, the real sharp slope did not arrive until the 1990's. Along about 1993, the slide began to sharpen. It was not until early 1998 that the slope became a steep cliff.

High Thread Count Bed Sheets. How Many Threads Does A Bed Sheet Need?
Written by: Liz Beresford | Distributed: 2004-09-14 | Word Count: 0 | Page Views: 5863 | Votes: 3 | Rating: 0.33
High thread count bed sheets, often called percale, are much advertised, but what exactly does 'high thread' count mean? You know that it means quality and comfort, but do you know why? It used to be considered good to have thread count of 180-200 but thread counts of up to 1000 are advertised these days.. So what is going on? Does high thread count always mean better quality? Is there an optimum thread count, and if so what is it?

Muzzling the Motor Mouths: Silence Workplace Windbags
Written by: Bill Lampton Ph.D. | Distributed: 2005-12-01 | Word Count: 0 | Page Views: 5712 | Votes: 4 | Rating: 0.50
During my twenty-three years in management, I dealt with blabbermouths frequently, so for the last ten years I have advised clients on how to silence the workplace windbags. Here are my suggestions for muzzling the motor mouths:

Better Than Botox is there a Safer Substitute?
Written by: Kamau Austin | Distributed: 2005-09-08 | Word Count: 0 | Page Views: 5578 | Votes: 3 | Rating: 0.33
Women since time immemorial have always looked for ways to enhance and prolong their beauty. This of course becomes more difficult as they age.

Transform Your Work Area into a Homey Environment
Written by: Ted Roberson | Distributed: 2006-02-24 | Word Count: 0 | Page Views: 5446 | Votes: 4 | Rating: 1.25
Nothing enables one to think and work better than a comfortable working environment. Especially if you have a sedentary job, you've got to have little knick knacks around that will enliven your spirits or which you can look at for inspiration or just to zone out in relaxation.

12 Ways to Promote Your Business And Website for Free
Written by: Ivana Katz | Distributed: 2005-03-29 | Word Count: 0 | Page Views: 5345 | Votes: 3 | Rating: 0.33
You are very excited!! You have finally created your own website!! But the trouble is customers aren*t knocking on your website door. Why? The most probable answer is...

Flowers Are The Perfect Gift For Father's Day
Written by: Wesley Berry, AAF | Distributed: 2008-02-20 | Word Count: 486 | Page Views: 5179 | Votes: 11 | Rating: 2.09
Dads everywhere have Sonora Smart Dodd to thank for getting Father's Day started. In 1909, Sonora sat in a church in Spokane, Washington listening to a sermon expounding on the virtues of motherhood. But, as she sat there, she thought about how special her own father was since it was he who raised her after the death of her mother.

Building your Credit to get a Mortgage
Written by: Kamau Austin | Distributed: 2006-05-11 | Word Count: 840 | Page Views: 4800 | Votes: 11 | Rating: 2.09
You are thinking about purchasing real estate. However, you are not sure if your credit is good enough to get a mortgage. There are things that you can do to build your credit so that it is worthy of any mortgage that may interest you.

7 Tips to Hiring a Good DJ for your Party
Written by: Kamau Austin | Distributed: 2006-05-11 | Word Count: 563 | Page Views: 4746 | Votes: 11 | Rating: 1.36
If you want to have a party that everyone will be talking about for days and years later, hire a good DJ to run your music and light show. Hiring a DJ can actually be fun. Just follow these simple tips, and you are sure to have a fabulous DJ for your party.

Sell Yourself, Not Your Products or Services
Written by: Bill Platt | Distributed: 2004-05-03 | Word Count: 0 | Page Views: 4609 | Votes: 2 | Rating: 0.50
Sell yourself, not your products or services. The point we need to make is that your products and services will change over time as your business adapts to the realities of the marketplace.

Highest Ranked "" Articles

Finding the Adventure in Travel Again
Written by: Helen Bergstein | Distributed: 2006-05-11 | Word Count: 718 | Page Views: 3844 | Votes: 14 | Rating: 2.64
If you want to experience adventure at every level of your next trip, you need to go beyond the usual resorts and places to stay. If you're like most travelers, personal safety remains a priority, especially in today's world. A growing number of savvy travelers have found the perfect balance between adventure and comfort.

Building your Credit to get a Mortgage
Written by: Kamau Austin | Distributed: 2006-05-11 | Word Count: 840 | Page Views: 4800 | Votes: 11 | Rating: 2.09
You are thinking about purchasing real estate. However, you are not sure if your credit is good enough to get a mortgage. There are things that you can do to build your credit so that it is worthy of any mortgage that may interest you.

Flowers Are The Perfect Gift For Father's Day
Written by: Wesley Berry, AAF | Distributed: 2008-02-20 | Word Count: 486 | Page Views: 5179 | Votes: 11 | Rating: 2.09
Dads everywhere have Sonora Smart Dodd to thank for getting Father's Day started. In 1909, Sonora sat in a church in Spokane, Washington listening to a sermon expounding on the virtues of motherhood. But, as she sat there, she thought about how special her own father was since it was he who raised her after the death of her mother.

7 Tips to Hiring a Good DJ for your Party
Written by: Kamau Austin | Distributed: 2006-05-11 | Word Count: 563 | Page Views: 4746 | Votes: 11 | Rating: 1.36
If you want to have a party that everyone will be talking about for days and years later, hire a good DJ to run your music and light show. Hiring a DJ can actually be fun. Just follow these simple tips, and you are sure to have a fabulous DJ for your party.

Ann Arbor, MI Offers A Lot Of Year-Around Family Fun
Written by: Jeb Maxwell | Distributed: 2010-01-20 | Word Count: 595 | Page Views: 3792 | Votes: 8 | Rating: 1.25
Ann Arbor, Michigan is the home of the University of Michigan, a leading institution of higher education. Ann Arbor is a wonderful place to visit. The University is co-mingled with the city and greatly expands the cultural places and events available in the area.

How to Decorate Your Home on EBay
Written by: Pamela Cole Harris | Distributed: 2005-09-14 | Word Count: 0 | Page Views: 1573 | Votes: 5 | Rating: 1.20
If you are on a budget (and who isn’t?), a wonderful place for find home decorating accessories is auction sites like eBay. But before you go a’baying, here is some advice...

The "Proprietary Blend" Nutritional Supplement
Written by: Will Brink | Distributed: 2006-02-10 | Word Count: 0 | Page Views: 2815 | Votes: 5 | Rating: 0.60
In a nut shell, I went onto cover each of these common marketing terms that are used to sell supplements to unwitting consumers and explained each in detail as to what I view as their common misuse within the market place.

Brink's Unified Theory of Nutrition
Written by: Will Brink | Distributed: 2006-02-24 | Word Count: 0 | Page Views: 1778 | Votes: 5 | Rating: 0.60
Regardless of the topic, a unified theory, seeks to explain seemingly incompatible aspects of various theories. In this article I attempt to unify seemingly incompatible or opposing views regarding nutrition, namely, what is probably the longest running debate in the nutritional sciences: calories vs. macro nutrients.

7 Steps to Successful Telemarketing
Written by: Kamau Austin | Distributed: 2006-05-03 | Word Count: 0 | Page Views: 2456 | Votes: 5 | Rating: 0.40
Telemarketing is not as easy as it looks. Telemarketing involves talking on the phone to someone you do not know and trying to convince them to buy a product, use a service, or sign up for a special offer. Many times, telemarketers fail because they are not doing the job properly.

Offer More Payment Options than your Competition
Written by: Bill Platt | Distributed: 2004-05-03 | Word Count: 0 | Page Views: 2917 | Votes: 5 | Rating: 0.40
In order to be successful online, you must provide your customers many quick and easy ways to pay for your goods and services. It is not enough to ask folks to send a money order or check to your house or place of business. You must do more.











Download an eBook today
 
Directory Navigation
Locate By Category:

ALL Categories
Arts & Crafts
Arts & Entertainment
Automotive
Business - Offline
Business - Online
Career
Computers
Education
Family
Finance
Food & Drink
Health & Wellness
Home & Garden
Humor
Internet
Nature & Pets
Real Estate
Religion
Self Improvement
Shopping
Society
Sports & Recreation
Technology
Travel & Leisure
Uncategorized
World Events
Writing & Speaking

Change Number of Results:
50 - 100 - 200 - 500
Article Reprint Rights
Creative Commons License

This work is
licensed under a
Creative Commons
License


You are not required to show the creative commons license notice when you reprint this work.
Article Statistics
Word Count: 0

Total Views: 1210

Article Rating: 0.00 of 5
Votes Cast: 2

More Articles By Author:



Last Distribution Date:
2005-03-10 00:16:02

Internal ID: #1128





All Articles are Copyright © 2001-2021 of the Defined Authors.

All other material and images on this site are:
Copyright © 2001-2021, ThePhantomWriters.com