|
Article Directory
|
+ Authors
+ Articles
|
|
|
|
FAQ #10: Strange Emails from thePhantomWriters.com
Question: I received an attachment from your site today that I do not understand. It has an attachment with it. Did you send this?
~ OR ~
I received an email from your site that has been flagged as a virus file? Is it really a virus, or is it a false positive? Should I open the attachment?
Answer: thePhantomWriters.com and our sister site Article-Distribution.com DO NOT send attachments to anyone.
The only exception to this rule is if you are a TPW client, and you had sent me a file for editing. If this were the case, then you would be anticipating an attachment from me.
If you are not anticipating an attachment from me, then DO NOT open the attachment in any email that seems as if it might be coming from any of my sites.
There is a nasty little virus circling around that tries to attach the name a real site into the FROM email address. I know for a fact that this virus is out there floating using my domains in the return address, because I am getting the copies of rejection emails from ISP's telling me these accounts no longer exist, or telling me that there is a virus in the package and the email had been quarantined.
For the record, I do not know the source of the actual outgoing emails. I have scanned my system and it remains clean.
Bill Platt - Owner
thePhantomWriters.com
|
|
How Many of our Clients Do You Recognize?
|
(Partial List -
Full List)
|
|