In Business Since 2001 We accept Paypal
Home for Writers for Publishers Article Directory Article Search
Guides
Article Marketing Secrets
20-Min Article Writing
Author Resource Box
35 Traffic Strategies
Kindle Uploads 101
Fantastic Fiction Decoded


Click Here to
see on Amazon


Site Navigation
Home

Writing Services
+ FAQ

FAQ

+ About Us
+ Blogs
Search Tools
+ Search Our Articles
Article Directory
+ Authors
+ Articles
Other Sites We Own
Writing Puzzle

Professional Book Marketing

Platt Publishing

Marketing Help


 
Article Teaser: 123di contains much more than just the practical tutorials for image processing. It has comprehensive theoretical coverage on the technical aspects of digital photography. These sections are great for understanding technical areas that can help you both select your photographic equipment and use it effectively. 123di explains both the *why* and the *how* of digital photography.

Keep reading below...

123di V5: A Review of the Digital Photographer's Library In A Box

Copyright (c) 2008-2017

Most of the books I've purchased about digital photography have only one or two sections I find useful when processing my images. This means that I've had to acquire a huge -- and expensive -- library of books, each having something I need from time to time, but no one book being comprehensive enough to serve as a first-choice reference. This means that, when I need information about some aspect of the digital workflow, I have to remember which book it's in, put my hands on the book, and then find the right page. Sound familiar?

Wouldn't it be great to have a comprehensive reference and be able to find needed information quickly and easily?

123di, "The 123 of digital imaging Interactive Learning Suite" seeks to fill this need for photographers at all skill levels.

Nearly all of my digital images need some processing after image capture. Taking those great pictures can be loads of fun, but the resultant images can be disappointing. When I need information about how to fix image problems and convert the throw-a-ways to keepers, I want to find it quickly.

As a photographer, being able to find the information I need *quickly
  • is *very* important. I found that 123di offers several ways to do this. In addition to reading the manual like a printed book, you can quickly find the information you want through

  • interactive Photoshop graphical user interfaces,

  • digital imaging workflow diagrams,

  • custom bookmarks,

  • interactive slide show,

  • index,

  • before and after images, and

  • frequently-asked digital imaging questions.

  • Common image problems I often have to fix with post-processing include

  • posterization,

  • loss of shadow detail,

  • white, overexposed areas,

  • dust spots,

  • a crooked horizon,

  • wide-angle lens distortion,

  • and distracting flash reflections.

  • Why do these problems show up in images? If you are like me, sometimes you just want to point and shoot. I don't always fuss with camera settings -- or sometimes I just forget a critical camera setting.

    For instance, overexposure can usually be avoided by setting the camera to underexpose images by -1/3 to -1 stop: if this is done, detail in bright highlights are not likely to be lost. The camera's exposure compensation is adjusted to do this. Do I always do this? Nope! That's one reason I need a tool like Photoshop to correct such image defects -- and why I need a comprehensive reference manual like 123di to tell me *how
  • to use the tool.

  • 123di makes it easy to find solutions to image problems like those above. For example, I had an overexposed image I wanted to use for a slide show. The image required a fix for posterization. A quick search of the 123di manual for "posterization," using the search feature in the extended version of 123di, turned up 48 references! Compare this result with what you find in the index of your favorite book on photography!

    It should be noted that several problems might have to be corrected in any given image. Many techniques are sometimes required to bring out the best in an image. I confess, I haven't taken the *perfect
  • image yet; but, since I am not a photo-journalist, I don't have to deliver my digital images untouched by processing. I can use any of the techniques discussed in 123di to either make my images look closer to the scene as I saw it or just to make a beautiful picture.

  • Assisting the photographer to find information of interest was a primary goal of 123di from the start. In fact, the 123di manual includes a special section dedicated to how to find topics of interest quickly. This section is found in Appendix B, "How to Quickly Find What You Want in 123di." One of the ways uses an "Index of Keywords" that enabled me to quickly find appropriate sections containing solutions to the problems I often have to fix.

    I accessed the index and easily found a tutorial on posterization with links to relevant sections for additional information. Solutions to the other problems listed above were also easy to find through the index, including how to remove disturbing flash reflections.

    Having access to the index is great, particularly if you have the standard version of 123di. With the extended version, it is possible to search the manual for a single word and have all of the references visible as links in the search-results box. This single feature makes the extended version worth serious consideration for purchase even without the other features included with the extended version. The standard version can be upgraded to the extended version at any time.

    The only real complaint I had about the standard version was that it did not have a similar search feature. Initially, I had purchased and installed the standard version. When I attempted to research the "posterization" problem, I spent a little time trying to find a search box in which to enter the search term. I ended up using the index to find the information I needed. I have come to expect an easy-to-find search form on the web pages I visit -- and the better web sites all have this feature as a usability enhancement. I would certainly welcome such an enhancement to the standard version of 123di. Also, although the extended version does have a search icon in the navbar, the search only allows a search for a single word. Many times, I do searches on the Web for phrases like "luminance masking." In 123di, I have to search for "luminance" and "masking" which complicates finding the information I need. A more enhanced search capability in all versions would be very useful.

    123di has done a good job of helping users learn how to use the manual most effectively. My advice is to take the time and carefully read the first five introductory pages of the manual. These pages contain important information about the best way to use the manual and also provide an overview of the manual's content. As an example, on page 2 of the "Introduction," there is a section for "Practical Image Editing Techniques." Clicking the link to "image editing tutorials" from this section links to a list of drop-down selection boxes for problem-oriented tutorials. The drop-down boxes are

  • Overcome Scene Limitations,

  • Overcome Camera Limitations,

  • Overcome Lens Limitations,

  • Enhance Detail,

  • Enhance Composition,

  • Enhance Color and Contrast,

  • Add Effects, and

  • Create.

  • The drop-down box for enhancing color and contrast has choices for using levels and curves and for white balance. These are essential topics for image processing with Photoshop and are well covered.

    If I had not spent a little time exploring the introductory pages, I might have missed this useful 123di drop-down feature.

    123di features how-to coverage of several software packages for image organization, editing, and presentation.

    Although I use Photoshop CS2 for my processing, it's nice to know that is it *not necessary
  • to purchase such an expensive piece of software to benefit from 123di. Image-editing tutorials in the essential sections are based on Adobe Photoshop Elements 2-3-4-5-6, a much more affordable software package that is often included free with today's digital cameras. Other software packages, besides those from Adobe, have similar methods of correcting image problems: the tutorials in 123di can point you in the right direction.

  • The image-editing tutorials in the advanced sections are based on Adobe Photoshop Lightroom, Photoshop CS3, CS2, CS, and 7, including Photoshop CS3 extended features that are relevant for digital photography.

    Once the images have been taken and processed, they can be optimized for presentation or display. Since most photographers are going to want to share their images on the Web, in slide shows, in screen savers, or with prints, knowing how to do this is very important. 123di shows how to do all of these things.

    Perhaps the most valuable content in the 123di manual -- for photographers at all levels -- are the materials showing how to *avoid
  • image problems in the first place. This content begins with topics about digital cameras and their sensors and then thoroughly presents processing techniques that not only prevent or overcome problems -- but also make the images "pop."

  • 123di is a digital manual available either through download or as a boxed set, and periodic updates keep the material up to date. 123 has versions for both PC and MAC users. There is also a special version for Nikon Camera users with coverage of software supplied by Nikon with their cameras.

    123di allows installation on multiple computers. I particularly like this benefit as I use a desktop in the office and a laptop in the field. It is nice to know that I don't have to purchase an additional licence or unlock key for this. 123di allows installation on three personal-use computers and can supply additional unlock keys upon request.

    123di contains much more than just the practical tutorials for image processing. It has comprehensive theoretical coverage on the technical aspects of digital photography. These sections are great for understanding technical areas and can even help you select your photographic equipment and use it effectively. 123di explains both the *why
  • and the *how
  • of digital photography.




  • About The Author: Shop Amazon - Top Gift Ideas
    Written by Royce Tivel For more information about 123di: http://www.selectdigitals.com/123di For additional content of interest to photographers: http://www.selectdigitals.com

    Follow "The Phantom Writers" on Twitter (@phantomwriters)
    to be notified when new articles are made available.


    VOTE ON THIS ARTICLE
    Needs Work >> 0 - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 << Excellent Article

    Tell our authors what you think about their article.



    Top-Level Category: Technology Articles

    10 Most Recent Articles Written by Royce Tivel

    Plagiarism Detection: How to Win Against Thieves Who Steal Your Articles
    Written by: Royce Tivel | Distributed: 2010-07-27 | Word Count: 2732 | Page Views: 2880 | Votes: 5 | Rating: 2.20
    Take these 5 specific steps to detect plagiarism and nuke unlawful publication of your online content. These 5 steps can also be used to remove content taken, without your permission, from your ezine publication, web site, or blog posts.

    All of Author's Articles on this site:

    Most Recent "Technology" Articles

    How MrBean Led the Computer Industry
    Written by: Jennifer Robinson | Distributed: 2010-11-02 | Word Count: 917 | Page Views: 3331 | Votes: 3 | Rating: 1.33
    1955 seemed like any other year to most people, but unbeknown to the world '55 was to prove the arrival of the geeks. Steve Jobs, Bill Gates, Tim Berners-Lee and Eric Schmidt were all born in 1955.

    The Definition of Renewable Energy - Present and Future Outlooks
    Written by: M.S. Rochell | Distributed: 2010-07-29 | Word Count: 563 | Page Views: 2657 | Votes: 1 | Rating: 5.00
    The definition of renewable energy does not just include wind, solar, water and geothermal energy sources. There are some exciting new possibilities for harnessing a new and little known form of renewable energy that is already in abundant supply in our world.

    Do-It-Yourself Automotive Axle Assembly Repair Tips and Tricks
    Written by: Quinton Becker | Distributed: 2010-05-11 | Word Count: 619 | Page Views: 5233 | Votes: 15 | Rating: 2.80
    Replacing an axle assembly is not as difficult as you may think. For front-wheel drive cars, and for some rear-wheel drive cars, this can be a do-it-yourself job. You will want to review the repair manual of your vehicle to decide, based on your own mechanical skill, whether you feel comfortable tackling this project yourself.

    Car Antenna Replacements Are Quick And Easy When You Know What To Do
    Written by: Quinton Becker | Distributed: 2010-05-04 | Word Count: 586 | Page Views: 15925 | Votes: 39 | Rating: 1.97
    Antennas are not the most durable parts of a vehicle, and are prone to requiring replacement or repair. There are many ways in which a car's radio antenna may be damaged. Unfortunately, one of the most common causes for antenna damage is vandalism... The good news is that repairs are fairly easy and straight-forward. In this article, we will tell you how-to replace a retractable car antenna.

    Do-It-Yourself With a Automotive Service Or Repair Manual
    Written by: Quinton Becker | Distributed: 2010-04-22 | Word Count: 809 | Page Views: 3808 | Votes: 8 | Rating: 1.50
    It can be quite expensive to have your car in a mechanic's garage these days. Even fees for oil changes and tire rotations have increased dramatically over the years. One way to save money on these types of expenses is to buy the parts and tools needed and do the maintenance or make the repairs by yourself. Having the right manuals on hand will help you to handle those tasks with ease.

    Blu-ray Players Loading Times
    Written by: Titus Hoskins | Distributed: 2010-04-21 | Word Count: 322 | Page Views: 3530 | Votes: 3 | Rating: 1.00
    The disc loading times of Blu-ray Players have always been a tricky issue with users. Why does it take forever for Blu-ray discs to load? Why are there no menus? Find out the answers by reading this informative article...

    Big Brake Kits Offer Extra Stopping Power for Family and Performance Cars
    Written by: Quinton Becker | Distributed: 2010-04-15 | Word Count: 617 | Page Views: 3576 | Votes: 16 | Rating: 2.00
    From the car aficionado to the daily commuter, all drivers should consider improving the safety of their vehicles. One of the best safety improvements available on the market is the addition of a big brake kit. Brakes are obviously critical in any car. But if the horsepower in a vehicle has been amplified, and the breaks have not been adjusted to accommodate that horsepower, it is likely that problems will occur.

    Cutting IT Costs: A Software Change May Be “Just The Ticket” To Trim Your Bottom Line
    Written by: Clark Tanner | Distributed: 2008-07-22 | Word Count: 649 | Page Views: 2619 | Votes: 3 | Rating: 2.33
    Current economic trends are forcing more and more companies to look for creative ways to reduce spending. When Senior Management decides to cut the budget across the board, even IT departments feel the crunch. That is why CTO's and IT Directors now have a new mandate. They must scrutinize every dollar they are spending, and make a decision as to what expenses are tied to 'must haves' versus 'nice to haves'.

    Garmin Dominates US Market for GPS Devices - But Stock Still Takes a Big Hit
    Written by: Jim Woods and Paul Carton | Distributed: 2008-05-06 | Word Count: 663 | Page Views: 2587 | Votes: 4 | Rating: 4.25
    When it comes to mapping out winners and losers in the GPS devices marketplace, we turn to the guidance of our 15,000-member ChangeWave research network. And what they've told us is that Garmin (GRMN) - the top GPS manufacturer in the world - has achieved near total domination of the U.S. marketplace.

    The Many Pay Offs And Benefits To You From Having A Good Auto Fuel Economy
    Written by: Benji O. Anosike | Distributed: 2008-04-08 | Word Count: 1758 | Page Views: 2676 | Votes: 9 | Rating: 1.22
    Just about everybody and every institution in the society, including the government of the day, frequently tell us that having lower prices and costs for fuel would be just about the most desirable and beneficial thing for the society and for almost everybody - economically, politically, and militarily.

    Most Viewed "Technology" Articles

    How to Download Voicemail Messages and Save to CD or MP3
    Written by: Howard Richman | Distributed: 2007-11-07 | Word Count: 999 | Page Views: 142089 | Votes: 123 | Rating: 3.24
    Have you ever wanted to permanently backup your answering machine messages or store your voicemail messages to your computer before they are auto-erased? Learn how to permanently save those cute messages from your children or important business messages.

    Car Antenna Replacements Are Quick And Easy When You Know What To Do
    Written by: Quinton Becker | Distributed: 2010-05-04 | Word Count: 586 | Page Views: 15925 | Votes: 39 | Rating: 1.97
    Antennas are not the most durable parts of a vehicle, and are prone to requiring replacement or repair. There are many ways in which a car's radio antenna may be damaged. Unfortunately, one of the most common causes for antenna damage is vandalism... The good news is that repairs are fairly easy and straight-forward. In this article, we will tell you how-to replace a retractable car antenna.

    Advantages and Disadvantages of Various Types Of Truck Bed Liners
    Written by: Thomas Maverick Tucker | Distributed: 2006-08-29 | Word Count: 840 | Page Views: 7997 | Votes: 19 | Rating: 1.89
    A vehicle is typically the second largest purchase that a person will make in his or her life, second only to a home. Because of the high cost of automobiles, it makes sense that you would want to do the best job that you can to protect your investment. There are many ways that you can protect your vehicle and if you have a pick up truck, you will most likely want to protect the bed of your truck with a bed liner.

    ITIL 101: Understanding the Basics
    Written by: Anne Sych | Distributed: 2007-01-11 | Word Count: 488 | Page Views: 6520 | Votes: 14 | Rating: 2.00
    In the world of IT management, ITIL is the buzzword being heard around the globe. So what is ITIL and how does it affect your organization? Let's take a closer look!

    Analysis of Candlepower, Lumens, LUX and Foot Candles
    Written by: Magnalight | Distributed: 2008-02-20 | Word Count: 774 | Page Views: 6370 | Votes: 13 | Rating: 3.08
    LUX represents the amount of useful light that enables you to see something at that distance. For example, if I took a book and walked out 100 feet, how much light would I have to read by?

    Tissue Culture Applications To Improve Crops of Strawberries, Raspberries, and Blackberries
    Written by: Patrick Malcolm | Distributed: 2006-09-22 | Word Count: 763 | Page Views: 6358 | Votes: 19 | Rating: 2.00
    Why berry plants "run out" and what is being done about it.

    Using Security Cameras
    Written by: Jerry Tarrer | Distributed: 2007-04-23 | Word Count: 736 | Page Views: 5637 | Votes: 10 | Rating: 4.20
    Crime continues to rise not just in a physical sense but also in the world of white-collar business. Security cameras have become a worthy ally to many in the detection and prevention of crime. A simple observation of the city will tell you security cameras are everywhere these days. Once used in their infancy as a traffic-monitoring device, remote security cameras are becoming the weapons of choice in the war against terrorism and crime around the world.

    How To Get the Best Lighting For your Photos
    Written by: Cheryl Miller | Distributed: 2006-05-31 | Word Count: 576 | Page Views: 5281 | Votes: 26 | Rating: 2.00
    Lighting will make or break your photo. You can do all sorts of experiments with lighting to really make some stunning and amazing pictures. Before we go into that lets go over a few points about lighting that will make your photo picture perfect.

    Do-It-Yourself Automotive Axle Assembly Repair Tips and Tricks
    Written by: Quinton Becker | Distributed: 2010-05-11 | Word Count: 619 | Page Views: 5233 | Votes: 15 | Rating: 2.80
    Replacing an axle assembly is not as difficult as you may think. For front-wheel drive cars, and for some rear-wheel drive cars, this can be a do-it-yourself job. You will want to review the repair manual of your vehicle to decide, based on your own mechanical skill, whether you feel comfortable tackling this project yourself.

    How to Counter - Spy Phone Invasions of Privacy
    Written by: Jerry Tarrer | Distributed: 2007-02-23 | Word Count: 973 | Page Views: 4916 | Votes: 13 | Rating: 2.23
    The rise of electronic bugging, terms used in phone spying, how to protect yourself from electronic bugging.

    Highest Ranked "Technology" Articles

    Using Security Cameras
    Written by: Jerry Tarrer | Distributed: 2007-04-23 | Word Count: 736 | Page Views: 5637 | Votes: 10 | Rating: 4.20
    Crime continues to rise not just in a physical sense but also in the world of white-collar business. Security cameras have become a worthy ally to many in the detection and prevention of crime. A simple observation of the city will tell you security cameras are everywhere these days. Once used in their infancy as a traffic-monitoring device, remote security cameras are becoming the weapons of choice in the war against terrorism and crime around the world.

    How to Download Voicemail Messages and Save to CD or MP3
    Written by: Howard Richman | Distributed: 2007-11-07 | Word Count: 999 | Page Views: 142089 | Votes: 123 | Rating: 3.24
    Have you ever wanted to permanently backup your answering machine messages or store your voicemail messages to your computer before they are auto-erased? Learn how to permanently save those cute messages from your children or important business messages.

    Diesel or Gas - Loud Smoking Dinosaur or Fuel Gulping Monster
    Written by: Simon Byholm | Distributed: 2007-06-27 | Word Count: 852 | Page Views: 2989 | Votes: 11 | Rating: 3.09
    In this article I'm going to discuss the properties of the diesel and gas engines, and compare them to each other. I'm specifically referring to their use in automobiles.

    Analysis of Candlepower, Lumens, LUX and Foot Candles
    Written by: Magnalight | Distributed: 2008-02-20 | Word Count: 774 | Page Views: 6370 | Votes: 13 | Rating: 3.08
    LUX represents the amount of useful light that enables you to see something at that distance. For example, if I took a book and walked out 100 feet, how much light would I have to read by?

    An Automobile Driver? Several Benefits Why It Pays You Dearly, Any Way, For You To Have A Good Fuel Economy
    Written by: Benji O. Anosike | Distributed: 2008-03-31 | Word Count: 1757 | Page Views: 3112 | Votes: 7 | Rating: 3.00
    Following below, are some of the most significant reasons and benefits, aside from simply the personal economic or financial benefit accruing to the individual motorist, why it will still pay you, any way, to have a life of good fuel economy any way, regardless.

    The Future Of Inkjet Cartridges - Could it be Without Cartridges?
    Written by: Rich Martin | Distributed: 2007-04-24 | Word Count: 434 | Page Views: 2820 | Votes: 8 | Rating: 2.88
    I do not know about you, but I do remember the days of the first Polaroid camera that would develop a black and white or color picture in just one minute. Wow, at that time, it was great. You did not have to wait days to receive your pictures. I know I am dating myself, but there is a reason why I am telling you this story. There could be a similar story brewing for the future of inkjet cartridges.

    Do-It-Yourself Automotive Axle Assembly Repair Tips and Tricks
    Written by: Quinton Becker | Distributed: 2010-05-11 | Word Count: 619 | Page Views: 5233 | Votes: 15 | Rating: 2.80
    Replacing an axle assembly is not as difficult as you may think. For front-wheel drive cars, and for some rear-wheel drive cars, this can be a do-it-yourself job. You will want to review the repair manual of your vehicle to decide, based on your own mechanical skill, whether you feel comfortable tackling this project yourself.

    The Importance of Proper Sanitization in the Homebrewing Process
    Written by: Mark Thurnau | Distributed: 2006-08-24 | Word Count: 628 | Page Views: 2916 | Votes: 9 | Rating: 2.78
    Sanitization is perhaps the most vital step that must be consistently undertaken during the entire process of homebrewing process, yet it is perhaps the one aspect of homebrewing that is most often rushed or overlooked. Problems with sanitization are the number one reason why homebrew beers fail.

    7 Good Reasons For Buying A Laptop Online
    Written by: Titus Hoskins | Distributed: 2008-03-31 | Word Count: 885 | Page Views: 3832 | Votes: 6 | Rating: 2.67
    Ever wonder why more and more people are purchasing their laptops online? Well, now you can discover what they already know... here are 7 good reasons to buy your laptop online.

    Why VHS is Disappearing
    Written by: Jerry Tarrer | Distributed: 2007-02-22 | Word Count: 692 | Page Views: 3471 | Votes: 7 | Rating: 2.43
    VHS is being replaced by newer technology. The film Studios are no longer releasing movies on VHS film, DVD's are much easier and cheaper to make, more durable, last years longer, and are much cheaper to mail. Basic DVD players can be purchased for $50.00 and under, making them less expensive than the VHS players. VHS collectors should fast-forward towards reformatting their piles of favorite movies soon before they become white elephants with a short shelf-life.












    Download an eBook today
     
    Directory Navigation
    Locate By Author

    Locate By Category:
    ALL Categories
    Arts & Crafts
    Arts & Entertainment
    Automotive
    Business - Offline
    Business - Online
    Career
    Computers
    Education
    Family
    Finance
    Food & Drink
    Health & Wellness
    Home & Garden
    Humor
    Internet
    Nature & Pets
    Real Estate
    Religion
    Self Improvement
    Shopping
    Society
    Sports & Recreation
    Technology
    Travel & Leisure
    Uncategorized
    World Events
    Writing & Speaking

    Change Number of Results:
    50 - 100 - 200 - 500
    Article Reprint Rights
    Creative Commons License

    This work is
    licensed under a
    Creative Commons
    License


    You are not required to show the creative commons license notice when you reprint this work.
    Article Publishing Tools
    Print Article
    Email-to-Blog
    HTML Source Code
    Text Newsletter Format
    Link Back HTML

    Blog Publishing Tools

    Internal ID: #5979
    Article Statistics
    Word Count: 1519

    Total Views: 3360

    Article Rating: 0.33 of 5
    Votes Cast: 3

    More Articles By Author:




    Article Title Search:

    Widow Search
    Right Blinker
    Google
    Yahoo!
    Zuula
    Bing
    Cuil

    Last Distribution Date:
    2008-04-24 12:00:00






    All Articles are Copyright © 2001-2017 of the Defined Authors.

    All other material and images on this site are:
    Copyright © 2001-2017, ThePhantomWriters.com